First AI Employee vs Rosie: the short answer

Rosie costs less to start and has guided setup. First AI Employee costs more and adds managed setup, calendar booking and rule-based transfers. If you need a live person on the line, settle that first.

Details

Choose First AI Employee when

Choose First AI Employee when booking and transfers matter more than the lowest price. It is a managed AI receptionist built around your call rules1. It books straight onto a connected Google, Outlook or Calendly calendar, or its own built-in calendar, and transfers urgent calls to a person by rules you set. Essential is $99/month with 400 included minutes2. It answers inbound calls only, for businesses operating in the United States3.

Rosie · What it is: AI answering service

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S16

Choose Rosie when

Choose Rosie when price comes first. Its Professional plan is $49/month4, about half of First AI Employee's entry plan, billed as a monthly bundle of included minutes. Rosie describes a guided setup for its AI answering service5. Its pages do not say whether a live person can take over from the AI, so ask before you rely on it. Check the plan's minutes against your busiest month, not your quietest.

Rosie · Starts at: $49/month for the displayed Professional plan

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15
Open Two-column fit summary

Two-column fit summary

Choose First AI Employee when
You want bookings written straight onto a connected Google, Outlook or Calendly calendar and urgent calls transferred by your rules.
Choose Rosie when
A lower monthly entry price matters most and your calls are short, like a salon booking quick appointments.
two-column fit summary
Both sell monthly plans with included minutes. Count your real monthly talk time before you compare the two.

How we checked

Every fact comes from the two vendors' own pages, checked on October 20, 2026. Nobody ran Rosie's setup or made test calls, so this is a reading of their pages, not a hands-on review.

Details

Rosie's side of this page rests on two of its own pages. One is its pricing page4. The other is its AI answering service page5. First AI Employee's side comes from its home, pricing and limitations pages1. All were checked on October 20, 2026. We did not sign up for Rosie, run its guided setup or make test calls to either service. Where Rosie's pages say nothing, as on live human backup, this page says so and does not guess. Check who pays a site before you trust its rankings. The FTC expects that kind of money tie to be disclosed clearly6, and it has acted against a comparison site whose rankings followed payments7.

How to read this page

Rosie · Starts at: $49/month for the displayed Professional plan

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15

What was checked

Rosie · Billed by: monthly included minutes

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15

What was not tested

Rosie · A person on the line: not stated in the checked sources

Not stated on its pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15, S16
Each provider's current facts, in the same columns
ProviderWhat it isStarts atBilled byHow we know
First AI EmployeeSee the First AI Employee facts on this pageSee the First AI Employee facts on this pagemonthly allowance with optional plan-dependent overageStated on its own pagesChecked 2026-10-20 · sources S02
RosieAI answering service$49/month for the displayed Professional planmonthly included minutesStated on its own pagesChecked 2026-10-20 · sources S15

Pricing and billing model

Both sell monthly plans with included minutes, so this is a simpler comparison than most. Compare them at your own monthly talk time, then check what each plan does past the allowance.

Details

Rosie and First AI Employee both sell monthly plans with included minutes, so you can compare them directly. Rosie's entry plan costs less4. First AI Employee's Essential plan is $99 a month for 400 minutes, Growth is $199 for 1,000 and Scale is $349 for 2,0002. Count your monthly talk time first. A property manager fielding long maintenance calls burns minutes faster than a salon booking quick appointments. Then check what each plan does past the allowance. On First AI Employee, extra minutes are off by default and cost $0.20 each on Essential if you turn them on2. Ask Rosie the same question.

Starting model

Rosie · Billed by: monthly included minutes

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15

included usage

Rosie · A person on the line: not stated in the checked sources

Not stated on its pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15, S16

overage or caps

Rosie · Setup: guided AI answering setup

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15, S16

commitment

Rosie · What it is: AI answering service

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S16
Open Normalized pricing scenario table · Minute-bundle comparison chart

Normalized pricing scenario table

Normalized pricing scenario table
What to enterWhat to write down
Starting modelWrite down the plan names for Rosie and First AI Employee. Both bill monthly with included minutes, so the units already match.
included usageRecord how many minutes each plan includes, next to your own monthly talk time from last month's calls.
overage or capsNote what Rosie does past the allowance. On First AI Employee, extra minutes stay off unless you turn them on.
commitmentNote any contract length or early-exit cost on each pricing page. If a page does not state it, write not stated.

How to compare, the same for every row above: Record a confirmed call outcome or assign the named human fallback. Do not count a fluent answer as completion.

Minute-bundle comparison chart

Minute-bundle comparison chartFor setup only. Put your own numbers into the calculator or worksheet; no vendor result is implied.
Your input (typical = 100)
SeriesLower inputBase inputHigher input
Starting model75100125
included usage75100125
overage or caps75100125

Setup and control

Rosie describes guided setup. First AI Employee describes a managed receptionist built around your call rules. Ask each what that means in practice, and who changes the rules later.

Details

Guided and managed sound alike, so ask what each word covers. Rosie describes a guided setup for its AI answering service5. First AI Employee describes a managed receptionist built around your call rules1. The hard parts are the same either way. Someone must decide which policies are current, write the call rules in plain words, and connect the calendar that holds your real bookings. An HVAC dispatcher or a moving company's estimator usually knows those rules best. Ask each vendor in writing who does that work. Then ask who updates it when your prices or hours change.

Done-for-you work

Rosie · A person on the line: not stated in the checked sources

Not stated on its pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15, S16

self-serve work

Rosie · Setup: guided AI answering setup

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15, S16

testing and tuning

Rosie · What it is: AI answering service

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S16

Call outcomes

Make the same test calls to both and check what each one leaves behind. A booking is a real event on your calendar, not a promise to call back.

Details

Booking is the claim to test first, because it is the easiest to check. Call each one as a customer would. Ask your hours. Ask something only your business knows, like whether an auto shop works on diesel trucks. Ask to book. Then ask for a person. Afterward, open your calendar and your messages. Only a real calendar event counts as a booking. First AI Employee books straight onto a connected Google, Outlook or Calendly calendar, or its own built-in calendar1. We did not record how Rosie handles bookings, so watch that call closely and ask Rosie to show you.

Answering

Rosie · Setup: guided AI answering setup

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15, S16

business questions

Rosie · What it is: AI answering service

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S16

booking

Rosie · Starts at: $49/month for the displayed Professional plan

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15

routing and transfer

Rosie · Billed by: monthly included minutes

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15

records and follow-up

Rosie · A person on the line: not stated in the checked sources

Not stated on its pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15, S16
Open Shared capability matrix · Appointment-link versus live-event distinction

Shared capability matrix

Shared capability matrix
QuestionHow to check
AnsweringCall each one as a customer would, once at a busy hour and once after closing, and listen to how the call opens.
business questionsAsk something only your business knows, like whether an auto shop works on diesel trucks, and judge the answer.
bookingAsk to book, then open your calendar. Only a real event counts, so ask Rosie to show you where its bookings land.
routing and transferAsk for a person and see where the call goes. Rosie's pages do not say whether a person can take over from the AI.
records and follow-upAfterward, open your messages and call records, and check that each call left something you can act on.

Good enough when, the same for every row above: Record a confirmed call outcome or assign the named human fallback. Do not count a fluent answer as completion.

Show comparison criterion details

Each row compares the same thing. A blank means the vendor's own page does not say.

  • Answering: Call each one as a customer would, once at a busy hour and once after closing, and listen to how the call opens.
  • business questions: Ask something only your business knows, like whether an auto shop works on diesel trucks, and judge the answer.
  • booking: Ask to book, then open your calendar. Only a real event counts, so ask Rosie to show you where its bookings land.
  • routing and transfer: Ask for a person and see where the call goes. Rosie's pages do not say whether a person can take over from the AI.

Appointment-link versus live-event distinction

Appointment-link versus live-event distinction
QuestionHow to check
AnsweringNote whether the caller is helped on the call itself or told they will get a text with a link to finish later.
business questionsAsk about a service and a time together, and see whether the reply checks real availability or only describes it.
bookingFinish a booking, then look for the event on your calendar. A texted link the caller may never open is not a booking.
routing and transferAsk to speak to someone about an existing appointment, and check whether a person gets the call or only a message.
records and follow-upCompare the call record to your calendar. A record that says booked with no matching event is a failed booking.

Good enough when, the same for every row above: Record a confirmed call outcome or assign the named human fallback. Do not count a fluent answer as completion.

Material limitations

Rosie's pages do not say whether a live person can back up the AI. First AI Employee answers inbound calls only, for US businesses, and is not for patient health information.

Details

Live human backup is the open question on Rosie's side. Its pages do not say whether a person can take over from the AI4. Silence on a page proves nothing either way, so ask before you count on it. First AI Employee's limits are published. It answers inbound calls only and places no outbound or cold calls3. It is for businesses operating in the United States and is not built for patient health information, so medical and dental offices should not send patient calls to it. It does transfer urgent calls to a person you choose, by rules you set.

Geography and use cases

Rosie · What it is: AI answering service

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S16

human fallback

Rosie · Starts at: $49/month for the displayed Professional plan

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15

regulated data

Rosie · Billed by: monthly included minutes

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15

outbound calls

Rosie · A person on the line: not stated in the checked sources

Not stated on its pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15, S16
Open Must-pass disqualifier strip

Must-pass disqualifier strip

Geography and use cases
First AI Employee is for businesses operating in the United States. Check Rosie's terms for your location and call types.
human fallback
Rosie's pages do not say whether a person can take over from the AI. Ask before you count on it.
regulated data
First AI Employee is not built for patient health information, so medical and dental offices should not send patient calls to it.
outbound calls
First AI Employee answers inbound calls only and places no outbound or cold calls. Ask Rosie about outbound if you need it.

Scenario recommendations

Rosie wins on entry price. First AI Employee fits owners who want setup handled and bookings made by their rules. If you need a person available on every call, neither looks right from their pages.

Details

Rosie is the better pick when the budget is tight and your calls are simple, like a salon whose callers mostly ask about hours and prices. First AI Employee fits a solo owner, such as a plumber on job sites, who wants setup handled and bookings placed on the calendar. A busy small team should compare minutes at its real volume. If you need a person available on every call, neither looks right from their pages. First AI Employee is an AI receptionist that transfers to your own people, and Rosie does not say. If you want to build the call logic yourself, look at a self-serve builder. Outbound calling rules First AI Employee out.

Solo owner

Rosie · Starts at: $49/month for the displayed Professional plan

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15

busy small team

Rosie · Billed by: monthly included minutes

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15

needs human backup

Rosie · A person on the line: not stated in the checked sources

Not stated on its pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15, S16

needs DIY logic

Rosie · Setup: guided AI answering setup

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S15, S16

needs lowest entry cost

Rosie · What it is: AI answering service

Stated on its own pages · Checked 2026-10-20 · Sources S16

Sources and change log

Two Rosie pages and three First AI Employee pages, each checked on October 20, 2026. Prices change fastest, so open Rosie's pricing page and First AI Employee's before you pay.

Details
Open Official source ledger

Official source ledger

Frequently asked questions

Short answers on price, minutes, backup and booking. Treat glowing online reviews with care too: the FTC banned fake ones, including AI-written reviews, from October 20248.

Details

Frequently asked questions

Is First AI Employee better than Rosie?

No universal winner. Pick First AI Employee if you want setup done for you and calls booked straight onto your calendar. Pick Rosie if a lower starting price, monthly included minutes or a guided setup suits you better. Rosie's pages do not say whether its own staff answer calls, and other differences were not confirmed.

Which is cheaper: First AI Employee or Rosie?

Overage is off by default. If it is turned on, extra minutes cost $0.20 each on Essential and Growth and $0.10 on Scale. Rosie's billing: monthly included minutes. Because they count different things, the cheaper one depends on your real calls and the jobs you need.

Which one books appointments?

Booking credit goes only to a provider whose official source, or a test anyone can repeat, shows a real event landing on the calendar. A texted link or a taken request counts as a different result.

Can either service make outbound calls?

The voice product answers inbound calls and does not place outbound or cold calls. If you need outbound calling, check the other vendor's official pages for what it offers.

How current is this comparison?

Official pricing and feature pages are checked at least every 30 days, and the source list shows the exact date. Rosie can move features, minutes and chat terms between plans, so check its pricing page before you buy.