How this list is different
This list ranks fit for a scenario, not one overall winner. Each fact comes from a vendor's own page and carries the date we checked it, and anything a vendor does not publish stays marked unknown.
Details
This list ranks fit for a situation. All five products publish pricing and product pages, and we describe each one only from those official pages. There is no single star score, because a plumber who needs bookings and a law firm that needs a person on the line want different winners. Every fact carries the date we checked it. A fact a vendor does not publish is marked unknown. If a guide has a business tie to any vendor, FTC guidance expects that connection to be disclosed clearly12. The FTC has also taken action against a comparison site whose rankings, it said, were for sale13. Read any guide's disclosure, this one included, before you trust its order.
How products were chosen
No paid placement
No universal star score
Source dates
Depends on your situation
Best fit by scenario
No universal winner. Each pick below fits one kind of business, judged on each vendor's current pages.
Done-for-you setup: First AI Employee
Result: First AI Employee; alternative: Rosie
Must-have: Someone else to set up and maintain the receptionist
First AI Employee sets up and runs the receptionist for you. Rosie, with its guided setup, is the closest alternative.
Trade-off: Rosie's starting price is lower.
Watch out: If you want to build the call handling yourself, look at Goodcall instead.
Stated on its own pages · sources S01, S15, S16A live person on call: Smith.ai
Result: Smith.ai
Must-have: Trained people who can step into calls when needed
Smith.ai offers live agents who can join calls, as a per-call add-on.
Trade-off: Ask what triggers a live agent, when they are available and what each call costs.
Watch out: If you must have vendor staff on calls, skip any vendor whose pages do not offer it.
Depends on your plan · sources S12Low monthly price with minutes: Rosie
Result: Rosie; alternative: Dialzara
Must-have: A low monthly plan with included minutes
Rosie has a low starting plan with monthly included minutes.
Trade-off: Dialzara starts even lower, but its minutes and overage work differently.
Watch out: Check that the plan does your must-have jobs before you compare prices.
Stated on its own pages · sources S02, S15, S17Build it yourself: Goodcall
Result: Goodcall; alternative: Dialzara
Must-have: To build and change the call handling yourself
Goodcall is built for owners who set up the agent themselves. Dialzara, set up by you after an onboarding call, is the alternative.
Trade-off: Neither vendor's pages say how deep their controls go.
Watch out: Do not assume unlimited control without seeing it.
Not confirmed: How far each vendor's setup controls go: not stated.
Depends on your plan · sources S13, S14, S17Lowest starting price: not settled
Result: Not enough evidence
Must-have: The cheapest plan that still does the jobs you need
Smith.ai has a free tier, but we could not confirm what it covers, so we name no single cheapest option.
Trade-off: Among paid starting plans, Dialzara's is the lowest.
Watch out: We will name a cheapest option only once the free tier's limits and jobs are confirmed.
Not confirmed: Smith.ai free-tier allowance and the jobs it covers: not confirmed, so Dialzara is not named the cheapest overall.
Not enough evidence · sources S11, S17Checked 2026-10-20; next review due 2026-11-19.
Open Methodology banner · Source freshness ledger
Methodology banner
- How products were chosen
- All five products publish pricing and product pages, and each one is described only from those official pages.
- No paid placement
- Read the disclosure on this page for any business tie to a vendor. FTC guidance expects such a connection to be disclosed clearly.
- No universal star score
- There is no single star score, because a plumber who needs bookings and a law firm that needs a person on the line want different winners.
- Source dates
- Every fact carries the date it was checked. A fact a vendor does not publish is marked unknown.
Source freshness ledger
Best fit by scenario
Pick the scenario closest to your business, then read why each option might be wrong for you. A strong fit for a law firm can be a poor fit for a plumber.
Details
Read each reason not to pick an option, and drop poor fits. First AI Employee fits an owner who wants a managed AI receptionist built around the business's call rules1, and it is the wrong pick if you want to build the call logic yourself. Goodcall suits that owner: you describe what the agent should do and its builder sets it up7. Smith.ai is the one to check if a live person must be able to join, since it lists live-agent backup as a per-call add-on5. Rosie sells monthly minute bundles, so call length drives your bill8. Dialzara includes initial prompt setup on Elite; Lite, Pro and Plus have self-editable prompts10. Cheapest entry depends on volume and remains unverified.
Managed setup: First AI Employee
- First AI Employee offers a managed AI receptionist built around a business's call rules. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S01.
- The voice product answers inbound calls and does not place outbound or cold calls. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S04.
- The AI receptionist is for businesses operating in the United States. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S02, S04, S09.
- The AI receptionist answers calls 24/7, including nights, weekends and holidays. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S01.
- It books appointments straight onto a connected Google, Outlook or Calendly calendar, or onto its own built-in calendar. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S01.
- It transfers urgent calls to a person by rules the business sets. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S01, S04.
- $99/month with 400 included minutes. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S02.
- $199/month with 1,000 included minutes. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S02.
- $349/month with 2,000 included minutes. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S02.
- Essential has a seven-day trial with up to 400 voice minutes and no SMS. A card is required, the trial starts when the number is live, and it becomes Essential at $99/month unless canceled. Growth and Scale have no free trial. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S01, S02, S09.
- Overage is off by default. If it is turned on, extra minutes cost $0.20 each on Essential and Growth and $0.10 on Scale. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S02, S09.
- Business Texting is a separate $50/month purchase on Growth or Scale, with 2,000 SMS segments a month on Growth and 4,000 on Scale. It is not available on Essential. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S02.
- Billing for a transferred call runs until First AI Employee's line drops, not until the other person picks up. Checked 2026-10-20; sources S04, S09.
Human backup: Smith.ai
Smith.ai. Its own pages describe it as an AI receptionist with optional live-agent involvement, billed by per call with included call tiers and overage (stated on its own pages), last checked 2026-10-20. Whether it fits still depends on the jobs it must do for you and the limits you can live with.
Low-cost minute bundle: Rosie
Rosie. Its own pages describe it as an AI answering service, billed by monthly included minutes (stated on its own pages), last checked 2026-10-20. Whether it fits still depends on the jobs it must do for you and the limits you can live with.
Workflow control: Goodcall
Goodcall. Its own pages describe it as a voice AI phone agent, billed by monthly plan with a unique-customer allowance; extra customers billed at the plan rate (stated on its own pages), last checked 2026-10-20. Whether it fits still depends on the jobs it must do for you and the limits you can live with.
Lowest entry-price category: unresolved
Dialzara. Its own pages describe it as an AI receptionist, billed by monthly included minutes plus plan-specific per-minute overage (stated on its own pages), last checked 2026-10-20. Whether it fits still depends on the jobs it must do for you and the limits you can live with.
| Provider | What it is | Starts at | Billed by | How we know |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First AI Employee | See the First AI Employee facts on this page | See the First AI Employee facts on this page | monthly allowance with optional plan-dependent overage | Stated on its own pagesChecked 2026-10-20 · sources S02 |
| Smith.ai | AI receptionist with optional live-agent involvement | Free tier; paid Pro shown at $150/month for 75 calls | per call with included call tiers and overage | Stated on its own pagesChecked 2026-10-20 · sources S11 |
| Goodcall | voice AI phone agent | $79 a month on the displayed Starter plan, with 100 unique customers a month | monthly plan with a unique-customer allowance; extra customers billed at the plan rate | Stated on its own pagesChecked 2026-10-20 · sources S13 |
| Rosie | AI answering service | $49/month for the displayed Professional plan | monthly included minutes | Stated on its own pagesChecked 2026-10-20 · sources S15 |
| Dialzara | AI receptionist | $29/month for Business Lite with 60 included minutes | monthly included minutes plus plan-specific per-minute overage | Stated on its own pagesChecked 2026-10-20 · sources S17 |
Open Best-fit scenario cards
Best-fit scenario cards
- Managed setup: First AI Employee
- Fits an owner who wants a managed AI receptionist built around the business's call rules. It is the wrong pick if you want to build the call logic yourself.
- Human backup: Smith.ai
- Check this one if a live person must be able to join a call. Smith.ai lists live-agent backup as a per-call add-on, so confirm when it triggers and what it costs.
- Low-cost minute bundle: Rosie
- Rosie sells monthly minute bundles, so call length drives your bill. Long calls, like a client explaining a legal problem, use up a bundle faster.
- Workflow control: Goodcall
- Suits an owner who wants to shape the call logic: you describe what the agent should do and its builder sets it up. Someone on your team then owns the updates.
- Lowest entry-price category: unresolved
- The cheapest entry depends on your call volume and pattern, so this label stays open. Run one real month of your calls through each plan before naming a winner.
Side-by-side capability matrix
Compare the same capability across all five providers. A blank cell means the vendor's page does not say, so treat it as a question to ask, never as a no.
Details
A blank cell in this matrix means the vendor's page does not say. It never means no. Goodcall's pages do not state a human fallback7, and neither do Rosie's9. Dialzara is plain about it: transfers go to your own team, and it states no vendor-staffed backup11. Press hardest on the booking column. Creating a real calendar event and texting a caller a scheduling link can both get called booking, and only one saves you a phone call. First AI Employee books straight onto a connected Google, Outlook or Calendly calendar, or onto its own built-in calendar1. Its AI receptionist is for businesses operating in the United States3. Compare down each column, one must-have at a time.
Service type
billing
booking
transfers
human fallback
geography
key limitation
Open Capability matrix
Capability matrix
| Question | How to check |
|---|---|
| Service type | Read how each vendor's own page describes the product, such as AI receptionist, phone agent or answering service, and note who does the setup. |
| billing | Write down each billing unit: minutes, calls or unique customers. Then price one real month of your calls in that unit. |
| booking | Ask whether booking creates a real calendar event or sends the caller a scheduling link. Book a test slot and open your calendar to check. |
| transfers | Ask where a transfer goes, such as your own team's phone, and test one to a line nobody answers. |
| human fallback | Look for vendor-staffed backup on the official page. A blank means the page does not say, so ask the vendor before you assume the answer is no. |
| geography | Check which countries each product serves. First AI Employee's AI receptionist, for example, is for businesses operating in the United States. |
| key limitation | Write down the one limit that would rule a product out for you, such as no live person or inbound calls only, and check it against the vendor's page. |
Good enough when, the same for every row above: Record a confirmed call outcome or assign the named human fallback. Do not count a fluent answer as completion.
Provider profiles
Each profile covers who it suits, when to avoid it, billing, setup and limits, with sources. Use it to plan your test calls, because a summary proves nothing about how real calls go.
Details
Start with the provider you already lean toward, and read its avoid-when notes first. No vendor page writes that part for you. Each profile states only what the vendor's current official page states, so several end on an open question. Treat every performance claim as something to test: announcing its 2024 sweep of deceptive AI claims, the FTC said there is no AI exemption from the laws on the books15. Accuracy also varies by caller. In a 2019 test of five speech engines on interview audio, error rates were nearly twice as high for Black speakers as for white speakers14. Engines have improved since. Still, call each finalist using your customers' real voices and accents.
First AI Employee
- First AI Employee offers a managed AI receptionist built around a business's call rules.
- The voice product answers inbound calls and does not place outbound or cold calls.
- The AI receptionist is for businesses operating in the United States.
- The AI receptionist answers calls 24/7, including nights, weekends and holidays.
- It books appointments straight onto a connected Google, Outlook or Calendly calendar, or onto its own built-in calendar.
- It transfers urgent calls to a person by rules the business sets.
- $99/month with 400 included minutes.
- $199/month with 1,000 included minutes.
- $349/month with 2,000 included minutes.
- Essential has a seven-day trial with up to 400 voice minutes and no SMS. A card is required, the trial starts when the number is live, and it becomes Essential at $99/month unless canceled. Growth and Scale have no free trial.
- Overage is off by default. If it is turned on, extra minutes cost $0.20 each on Essential and Growth and $0.10 on Scale.
- Business Texting is a separate $50/month purchase on Growth or Scale, with 2,000 SMS segments a month on Growth and 4,000 on Scale. It is not available on Essential.
- Billing for a transferred call runs until First AI Employee's line drops, not until the other person picks up.
Sources and date checked. Checked 2026-10-20. FAE-V01: S01; FAE-V02: S04; FAE-V03: S02, S04, S09; FAE-V04: S01; FAE-V06: S01; FAE-V07: S01, S04; FAE-V12: S02; FAE-V13: S02; FAE-V14: S02; FAE-V15: S01, S02, S09; FAE-V16: S02, S09; FAE-V17: S02; FAE-L03: S04, S09.
When it fits. Pick it when you want the receptionist set up and run for you, and its plans, call handling and published limits match your must-haves. Test it on a few real calls first, including one that should go wrong.
When to pick something else. Choose another service if you need a live person answering every call, a task it does not list, or an integration it does not name. A human answering service or another provider may fit better.
Smith.ai
What Smith.ai's own pages say. Each fact below comes from its official pages, with the date it was checked. A product type or a price tells you what you would buy. It does not tell you how well it answers your customers or whether it saves you money.
- What it is
- AI receptionist with optional live-agent involvement. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-2045.
- Starts at
- Free tier; paid Pro shown at $150/month for 75 calls. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-204.
- Billed by
- per call with included call tiers and overage. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-204.
- A person on the line
- available as a per-call add-on. Depends on your plan, checked 2026-10-205.
Ask before you choose. Take these questions to your demo or quote request. Ask for answers about the exact plan you would buy, and write down anything they cannot confirm.
- How many billable calls appear in a peak week, including short or misdirected calls?
- Which exact event invokes the live-agent add-on, and what happens when no person accepts it?
- Does the selected Smith.ai tier leave configuration with the buyer or move it to a full-service team?
- Can the observed call record prove a booking or transfer instead of merely reporting success?
When it fits. Shortlist Smith.ai when its product type, billing, setup work and human backup match the must-haves you wrote down. Then test it with a few real calls or chats, including one that should go wrong.
When to pause. Hold off if its pages do not state a task you need, an integration, where it works, how it handles sensitive data, or how it passes a customer to a person. If its pages and your own test disagree, trust the test and ask them why.
Rosie
What Rosie's own pages say. Each fact below comes from its official pages, with the date it was checked. A product type or a price tells you what you would buy. It does not tell you how well it answers your customers or whether it saves you money.
- What it is
- AI answering service. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-209.
- Starts at
- $49/month for the displayed Professional plan. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-208.
- Billed by
- monthly included minutes. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-208.
Ask before you choose. Take these questions to your demo or quote request. Ask for answers about the exact plan you would buy, and write down anything they cannot confirm.
- What is the measured distribution of short, ordinary, and unusually long calls?
- Does appointment handling return a live event identifier or only provide a scheduling link?
- Which parts of guided setup remain the buyer's ongoing responsibility?
- What happens after the included minute bundle is exhausted?
When it fits. Shortlist Rosie when its product type, billing, setup work and human backup match the must-haves you wrote down. Then test it with a few real calls or chats, including one that should go wrong.
When to pause. Hold off if its pages do not state a task you need, an integration, where it works, how it handles sensitive data, or how it passes a customer to a person. If its pages and your own test disagree, trust the test and ask them why.
Goodcall
What Goodcall's own pages say. Each fact below comes from its official pages, with the date it was checked. A product type or a price tells you what you would buy. It does not tell you how well it answers your customers or whether it saves you money.
- What it is
- voice AI phone agent. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-207.
- Starts at
- $79 a month on the displayed Starter plan, with 100 unique customers a month. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-206.
- Billed by
- monthly plan with a unique-customer allowance; extra customers billed at the plan rate. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-206.
Ask before you choose. Take these questions to your demo or quote request. Ask for answers about the exact plan you would buy, and write down anything they cannot confirm.
- How many distinct customers, rather than total calls, reach the business each month?
- Who updates the agent when business rules or opening hours change?
- What observable record shows that a branch completed its intended action?
- How are repeat callers treated inside the unique-customer allowance?
When it fits. Shortlist Goodcall when its product type, billing, setup work and human backup match the must-haves you wrote down. Then test it with a few real calls or chats, including one that should go wrong.
When to pause. Hold off if its pages do not state a task you need, an integration, where it works, how it handles sensitive data, or how it passes a customer to a person. If its pages and your own test disagree, trust the test and ask them why.
Dialzara
What Dialzara's own pages say. Each fact below comes from its official pages, with the date it was checked. A product type or a price tells you what you would buy. It does not tell you how well it answers your customers or whether it saves you money.
- What it is
- AI receptionist. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-2011.
- Starts at
- $29/month for Business Lite with 60 included minutes. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-2010.
- Billed by
- monthly included minutes plus plan-specific per-minute overage. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-2010.
- A person on the line
- transfers to the buyer's team; no vendor-staffed live backup stated. Its pages say it is not offered, checked 2026-10-201011.
- Setup
- self-editable prompts on Lite, Pro and Plus; initial prompt setup included on Elite; ongoing prompt engineering on Done for You. Stated on its own pages, checked 2026-10-2210.
Ask before you choose. Take these questions to your demo or quote request. Ask for answers about the exact plan you would buy, and write down anything they cannot confirm.
- Which plan supplies the required minutes and prompt assistance without relying on an unstated add-on?
- Who answers when Dialzara transfers a caller and the buyer's team is unavailable?
- How quickly does measured duration move the scenario into per-minute overage?
- Which requested workflows are inbound, and which would require separately verified outbound capability?
When it fits. Shortlist Dialzara when its product type, billing, setup work and human backup match the must-haves you wrote down. Then test it with a few real calls or chats, including one that should go wrong.
When to pause. Hold off if its pages do not state a task you need, an integration, where it works, how it handles sensitive data, or how it passes a customer to a person. If its pages and your own test disagree, trust the test and ask them why.
Open Provider profile cards
Provider profile cards
- First AI Employee
- Fits a U.S. business that wants a managed receptionist built around its call rules. Avoid it if you need outbound calls, since it answers inbound calls only.
- Smith.ai
- Fits an owner who wants a live person available as a paid per-call add-on. Avoid it if many of your calls are short or misdirected, since each call counts.
- Rosie
- Fits a business with short calls and a monthly minute budget. Its checked pages leave human backup not stated, so test that before you rely on it.
- Goodcall
- Fits a business whose regulars call often, since billing counts unique customers. Avoid it if nobody on your team will maintain the agent's instructions.
- Dialzara
- Fits an owner who wants a starter plan with included minutes and a team ready to take transfers. Avoid it if you need vendor-staffed live backup.
Evidence scope: 17 cited records on this page; latest recorded check 2026-10-22. Open the source record below for each source's individual state and review date.
Show provider profile
Start with the card that matches your business. The order of the cards is not a ranking.
- First AI Employee: Fits a U.S. business that wants a managed receptionist built around its call rules. Avoid it if you need outbound calls, since it answers inbound calls only.
- Smith.ai: Fits an owner who wants a live person available as a paid per-call add-on. Avoid it if many of your calls are short or misdirected, since each call counts.
- Rosie: Fits a business with short calls and a monthly minute budget. Its checked pages leave human backup not stated, so test that before you rely on it.
- Goodcall: Fits a business whose regulars call often, since billing counts unique customers. Avoid it if nobody on your team will maintain the agent's instructions.
How to choose among the five
Drop any option that fails a must-have before you weigh the nice-to-haves. Then make test calls and compare the full monthly cost of the providers left standing.
Details
Answer five questions in order and you will usually have two names left. First, what must have happened by the end of the call: a message, a booked slot or a transfer. Second, who does the setup, you or the vendor. Third, whether a person must be able to join, and who that person is. Most US small businesses have no employees at all, 82.3% of 36.2 million17, so for many owners a transfer rings their own cell. Fourth, what your usage looks like, since minute and per-call pricing swap places at different volumes. Fifth, what a badly handled call costs you. Discount reviews you cannot trace: an FTC rule bans fake reviews and testimonials, including AI-generated ones16.
Call outcome
setup ownership
human backup
usage pattern
risk
Why First AI Employee is not always the answer
First AI Employee is a poor fit for some buyers. The notes below say when Smith.ai, a self-serve builder, a provider set up for regulated data, or a human service is the better pick.
Details
Choose Smith.ai when
Choose Smith.ai when a live person must be able to join the call. Its AI receptionist offers optional live-agent involvement, and live backup is a per-call add-on5. It has a free tier, and paid Pro is shown at $150/month for 75 calls, with overage past the included calls4. First AI Employee transfers urgent calls to a person by rules the business sets1, and it is not a human answering service. If nobody on your team can take those transfers, Smith.ai is the closer fit.
Smith.ai. Its own pages describe it as an AI receptionist with optional live-agent involvement, billed by per call with included call tiers and overage (stated on its own pages), last checked 2026-10-20. Whether it fits still depends on the jobs it must do for you and the limits you can live with.
Choose a self-serve platform when
Choose a self-serve platform when you want to build and change the call handling yourself. Goodcall's Starter plan is shown at $79 a month with 100 unique customers a month, and extra customers bill at the plan rate6. You describe what the agent should do and its builder sets it up7. Dialzara also starts self-serve, at $29/month for Business Lite with 60 included minutes10. That control is real, and so is the time it takes. First AI Employee is a managed AI receptionist built around your call rules, which suits owners who would rather not build.
Choose a regulated provider when
Choose a provider that documents how it handles regulated data when your calls carry health, legal or financial details. First AI Employee is not built for calls that carry patient health information, so a dental or medical office should not use it for patient calls3. The other vendor facts on this page do not settle the question either. Ask each vendor in writing how it handles that data and whether it will sign the agreements your field requires. Keep the answer with its date.
Choose a human service when
Choose a human answering service when your most valuable calls are the messy ones. People read tone, calm an upset caller and improvise when a call fits no rule. An AI receptionist is consistent and answers at any hour, but it can mishear callers, and accuracy varies by speaker14. A property manager facing a furious tenant, or a law firm taking a first call from someone in crisis, may be better served by a person. Pay for people where the script runs out.
Frequently asked questions
Answers on using this shortlist and reading its sources. Confirm any product detail you depend on with the vendor before you sign up for a plan.
Details
Frequently asked questions
What is the best AI receptionist for a small business?
It depends on what you need most: setup done for you, a person as backup, the lowest entry price, control over the call handling, or one specific software connection. This page names a pick for each situation instead of claiming one winner for everyone.
Which AI receptionist has human backup?
Yes, depending on the plan: Smith.ai's live agents are available as a per-call add-on. Ask what triggers a live agent and what each call costs.
Which service is cheapest?
Dialzara: $29/month for Business Lite with 60 included minutes. Rosie: $49/month for the displayed Professional plan. Goodcall: $79 a month on the displayed Starter plan, with 100 unique customers a month. First AI Employee Essential is $99/month with 400 included minutes. A headline price is not the full cost, because allowances, jobs and add-ons differ.
Do you test the products?
This comparison uses each vendor's official public pages and any public demo that anyone can repeat. We do not publish performance scores without controlled tests. Each profile says what kind of evidence it rests on and the date it was checked.